A New Beginning

It’s a new year and with it, another post. I have managed to post once a year since I started this blog, not something to be proud of, just an observation. I really hope this changes with the new year. The site has been redesigned with the help of my lovely and talented wife Emily (you should check her new site here) and I have added content to the Art and Photography galleries. Again, more content will be posted as time permits.

I have been reading other blogs and news sites on the interwebs and thought I’d take a minute to share a few as they have been a great resources for either current events or for interesting posts and have also been great sources of inspiration. I don’t visit the sites on a regular basis, but the stories and posts populate my twitter feed where I can read what grabs my attention then go back through the archives and see what I’ve been missing out on.

Coffee with an Architect has the great posts Who’s an Architect? Doctor Who and Evil Lairs among other great posts.

Life of an Architect came to my attention because of his list of What to get an Architect for Christmas and I stayed for …You might be an Architect and Architecture and the Art of getting it Wrong among others.

Archinect and ArchDaily has provided some great daily articles on the industry at large.

Tree Hugger has been a great source for all things green.

And finally, Archi-Ninja caught my attention with a kickstarter for her D.I.Y. Concrete House Rings and held it there with the great articles 10 lessons when searching for a job in architecture and Architecture and Anarchy.

Admittedly, reading the works on these sites can be intimidating when trying to find my own voice to add to the discussion: “Is what I have to say relevant?” “Do I have what it takes?” “Will anyone care?” But, as I keep reminding myself, it’s my voice. It’s going to be what I make of it and it will be shaky at the start, but somehow it will work itself out.

And really, ultimately, this site is here for me, as a place to organize my stuff. My own personal art gallery as it were. And like all galleries, not everything presented is going to be liked or understood by all people. Art is subjective and that’s ok. I’m not asking you the viewer to like everything I post here, just don’t hate it.

Happy New Year,

citizen silva

Leave a Reply

